Choosing Teaching at Fifteen: Uzbekistan’s Pedagogical Classes and the Shortage They Were Built to Fix
The instrument, not the slogan
Cabinet of Ministers Decision No. 242, signed 29 April 2024 and in force the same day, authorizes a pilot: from the 2024/2025 academic year, one general secondary school in Karakalpakstan, one in Tashkent city, and one in each region will run a pedagogical class for grades 10–11. The text is explicit about the mechanism — a two-year program, a grade-9 selection gate, an attached pedagogical university, and a terminal credential at Level 2 of the National Qualifications Framework permitting work as an assistant educator (tarbiyachi yordamchisi) in preschool organizations. The decree is available in full on lex.uz.
Read carefully, this is a routing instrument, not a supply instrument. It does not create teaching posts, raise stavka pay, or guarantee university admission. It moves a small, screened cohort of fifteen-year-olds onto a defined track and hands them a certificate at the end. Whether that relieves a teacher shortage depends on a step the decree does not measure: whether graduates continue into pedagogical university study or stop at the assistant-educator slot.
What the decree actually says
The provisions that matter for anyone tracing this from ministry order to gradebook:
- Scope. One school per region plus Tashkent and Karakalpakstan. The regulation explicitly excludes specialized schools, schools with elective subjects, non-state general secondary schools, and schools operating on a variable curriculum (Article 2 of the annex). This is a demonstration site, not a pipeline.
- Selection. Students are chosen from those with aptitude and interest, admitted by the school director’s order on the recommendation of the pedagogical council (Article 5). The regulation adds that selection proceeds from pedagogical-psychological diagnosis, parental consent, and the student’s own interest (Article 6).
- The steering begins earlier than grade 9. From grade 7, pilot schools conduct surveys on interests and professional aptitude; grade 8–9 students visit pedagogical universities for excursions and master classes (Article 12). The “choice at fifteen” framing is therefore slightly late — the instrument starts shaping interest two years before the class convenes.
- Content. Year one (grade 10) covers the significance and specifics of the profession, its values, teacher speech culture, requirements for the modern teacher, image and ethics, and the professional qualities of the educator. Year two (grade 11) develops initial knowledge in pedagogy, psychology, and methodology of educational work, covers modern trends and educational strategies, non-traditional methods, and includes introductory practicums (Article 10).
- Pedagogy of delivery. Lessons take the form of interactive lectures, seminar-trainings on practical problems, mastery lessons, small-group work, attachment to experienced school teachers on a mentor-apprentice principle, and extracurricular sessions (Article 11).
- Credential. Graduates receive a shahodatnoma under the 2017 regulation on general secondary education (Cabinet Decision No. 140 of 15 March 2017) plus a state-format certificate at Level 2 of the National Qualifications Framework granting the right to work as an assistant educator in preschool organizations. This is not a teaching license.
- Institutional wiring. Tashkent State Pedagogical University named after Nizami coordinates the pilot schools and their attached pedagogical universities and provides methodological support. The attached university is responsible for the quality of the teaching-learning process in the classes (Article 7). Regional education chiefs and university rectors are personally accountable (Article 5 of the decision).
- Evaluation deadline. The two ministries must submit analytical findings and proposals to the Cabinet at the end of the 2025/2026 academic year (Article 4(d)).
A Russian-language summary published by NORMA.UZ on 30 April 2024 corroborates the start year, the one-school-per-region structure, and the assistant-educator certificate.
The shortage premise, handled honestly
The decree’s stated purpose is not shortage relief. Article 8 of the annex frames the goal as forming initial pedagogical-psychological knowledge and skills, creating conditions for conscious choice of the teaching profession, and broadening understanding of the profession’s status in society. The preamble speaks of improving the quality of teacher training by creating a new system of targeted and continuous preparation. Nowhere does the text cite a teacher-vacancy count, a subject-specific gap, or a supply target.
The labor-market context the pilot sits inside is real but must be attributed carefully. In August 2023, Kun.uz reported that teacher hiring would move to a competitive basis, with first-time candidates working as teacher-trainees for one year and required to obtain a professional certificate at the end of that year. The same report stated that roughly 8,000 teachers are employed in schools annually and that new schools will increase demand. Those figures are as reported by Kun.uz, not an official Ministry statistic, and they should be read as context rather than as the pilot’s justification.
The honest reading: the pilot is a recruitment-and-routing experiment nested inside a broader hiring reform. It may eventually feed the shortage pipeline, but the decree does not claim that, and no retrieved source reports enrollment, completion, or placement figures for the 2024/2025 or 2025/2026 cohorts.
What the pilot can prove, and what it cannot
Distinguishing these is the whole analytical job.
What it can prove: whether the selection mechanics work (grade-7 surveys, grade-8/9 university visits, grade-9 screening, director’s order); whether the university-school coordination functions in practice; whether the two-year curriculum is deliverable in the hours carved out of the vocational-training portion of the o’quv reja; whether preschool employers treat the Level 2 certificate as a hiring qualification; and whether pedagogical universities treat pilot graduates as prepared entrants.
What it cannot yet prove: system-level supply effects. One school per region cannot move a national teacher-stock number. Any claim that the pilot “fixes” the shortage before the 2025/2026 analytical report exists is a projection from program design, not a finding.
The credential question is the real test
The design routes fifteen-year-olds toward a specific labor slot — assistant educator in a preschool organization — and stops there. The decree does not guarantee university admission, does not guarantee a teaching post, and does not specify whether the certificate is a bridge or a terminal qualification. That ambiguity is the pilot’s central unresolved question.
Two concrete tests will answer it. First, do preschool employers recognize the Level 2 certificate in hiring practice, or do they continue to prefer candidates with specialized secondary pedagogical education? Second, do pedagogical universities admit pilot graduates on terms that reflect their preparation, or do they treat them as ordinary applicants? Neither is established by the decree text. Both are answerable from the pilot’s own evaluation data.
There is a third test that matters for the shortage framing: how many pilot graduates enter pedagogical university study versus how many take assistant-educator posts directly. If the ratio tilts toward the terminal slot, the pilot is producing preschool support staff — valuable, but not teacher supply. If it tilts toward university entry, the pilot is a feeder. The decree does not specify which outcome it prefers, which is itself a design choice worth noting.
Comparative note: what a demonstration site can and cannot borrow
Pedagogical classes are not a post-Soviet novelty. Russia’s pedagogicheskie klassy and Kazakhstan’s earlier experiments with profile classes in pedagogical orientation share the basic architecture: early selection, school-university partnership, and a credential that sits below the full teaching license. The Uzbek variant is distinctive in two respects — the explicit Level 2 qualification-framework anchor, which makes the credential portable and legible to employers, and the personal accountability assigned to regional ministers and rectors, which concentrates implementation risk at the top rather than dispersing it through the inspectorate.
Whether either feature travels is an empirical question the pilot’s evaluation should answer. The one-school-per-region cap makes this a demonstration site in the strict sense: it can show feasibility, selection mechanics, and university-school coordination. It cannot show scale effects, and it should not be asked to.
What to watch in the 2025/2026 report
The decree sets a clear horizon. The two ministries must submit analytical findings and proposals to the Cabinet at the end of the 2025/2026 academic year. Before that report exists, claims about the pilot’s effect on teacher supply are projections. After it exists, the useful questions are specific:
- How many pilot graduates entered pedagogical universities, and how many took assistant-educator posts?
- Did preschool employers recognize the Level 2 certificate in hiring, and at what rate?
- Did the one-school-per-region cap hold, or was it lifted — and on what evidence?
- What did the grade-7 survey and grade-9 screening actually select for, and did the selected cohort differ from ordinary grade-10 entrants in ways the evaluation can measure?
- What contact hours did the attached universities actually deliver, and how were they funded?
These are answerable questions. They are also the questions that distinguish a routing instrument from a supply instrument — and that distinction is the difference between a pilot worth scaling and a pilot worth retiring.
A practitioner-facing provocation
If you teach in one of the pilot schools, or sit on a pedagogical council that recommends students into the class, the question the decree leaves to you is not whether the profession deserves fifteen-year-olds’ commitment. It is whether the certificate you hand a graduate at seventeen opens a door or closes one. The evaluation will report what the ministries choose to measure. The gradebook will record what you actually taught. Those two records should agree, and the only way to make them agree is to decide, now, whether you are preparing assistant educators or preparing future teachers — and to teach accordingly.
Comments are Disabled